Finnish cuisine

Like a good fashion accessory, boiled potatoes go with everything

Behold, the Finnish national dish: boiled potatoes.

Well, I suppose there are other more elaborate dishes out there but I’m all about keeping it real. What I always ate as a child was boiled potatoes with something.

I was convinced for the longest time that Finns actually invented the potato.

You would imagine that I would have developed some sort of resentment for it but the one thing I always craved for on returning from the UK is potatoes. None of those saggy chips for me, I wanted a lovely big pot of freshly boiled new potatoes. With dill. And Baltic herring.

Proper hermit food.

One thought on “Finnish cuisine

  1. I write this with a smile on my lips. Wikipedia says:”The potato was first domesticated in the region of modern-day southern Peru”. In Finnish potato is Peruna. Any conclusions?🙂

Leave a Reply

